

American Crystal Sugar Company Board of Directors Reorganizes

MOORHEAD, MINN. – December 6, 2016 – Robert Green, St. Thomas, ND was re-elected chairman at American Crystal Sugar Company's December 1 Board of Directors Reorganization meeting following the cooperative's annual meeting.

At the same meeting, Curt Knutson was re-elected vice chairman. Knutson has been a director since 2007. He farms near Fisher, Minn. and has been a sugarbeet grower for 44 years.

American Crystal also welcomed a new director to its Board following elections held in November.

Jeff Whelan joined the Board representing the Drayton Factory District. Whelan is a third generation shareholder from rural Crystal, North Dakota and past executive committee member of the Red River Valley Sugarbeet Growers Association who has also served on numerous sugar industry and agricultural boards.

One director also exited American Crystal's Board.

William "Buzz" Baldwin, a director since 2004 reached his term limit after four consecutive three year terms of service. Baldwin represented the Drayton Factory District and is a fifth generation farmer near St. Thomas, North Dakota.

American Crystal Sugar Company is an agricultural cooperative owned by 2,650 shareholder entities in the Red River Valley involved in the growing and processing of sugarbeets. American Crystal is the largest beet sugar producer in the United States. American Crystal operates sugar factories at East Grand Forks, Crookston and Moorhead, Minnesota, and Drayton and Hillsboro, North Dakota. Its corporate headquarters and technical services center are located in Moorhead. The company also owns and operates a sugar factory in Sidney, Montana.







